BEDA Day 4: Opportunity/success

I cherish each and every opportunity I’m given, whether it’s a small thing in school or traveling halfway across the country to perform in a national band. I may say my life is “normal” or “boring” but in reality, my mind is buzzing with opportunities and chances not yet taken. 

Let’s use band as an example. Five-ish years ago, I was given the opportunity to play and instrument in school. I took that opportunity, and I’ve performed in many concerts and I’ve even travelled out of state for a competition. 

Another example is Spanish. I had the chance to take Spanish rather than gym last year. Now, on Thursday, I’m being inducted into the Spanish Honor Society at our school, and many, MANY more opportunities will arise from that.

Of course, sometimes you’ll have to take risks or make sacrifices to get what you want in life. You have to work to achieve your goals. Sometimes, in order to achieve something you’ve been dreaming about for years, all you have to do is take a small opportunity someone gives you. It’s almost like the butterfly effect, but more like steps toward success.

I’m not saying you should take every opportunity that comes your way, but there are some that I regret not taking. What I am saying is that if you have a dream, follow it. Take chances, maybe take a step outside your comfort zone.

Whatever sorts of things you want to achieve in life, I wish you luck in getting there.

Leave a Reply

