Paranoid

Walking to the fireworks display in the sketchiest town around where I live.

Everything is fine, walking down the path by the ocean, lit by the slowly setting sun.

Then, we approach a bridge. A highway bridge.

“Keep calm,” I keep telling myself. It works, but only until I look down. I realize that this bridge could collapse.

Soon after I think that, though, I am on the other side of the bridge.

I walk to the fireworks, and everything is okay.

We get up to leave, and then it hits me. Not only do we have to walk back over that bridge and through the path in the dark, we have to walk the streets, riddled with drunks and people setting off fireworks.

I try not to freak out, but this time I have someone there. Someone protecting me, in a way. She assures me I’ll be fine, and that’s what gets me through that nightmare.

Thank you for being my light in the darkness, and happy 4th (I know it was yesterday, you don’t have to remind me). See you guys next time!

~Tentative Visionary

Leave a Reply

