Father

“We, as humans, love putting people into little boxes, and I know it’s cliché, but it’s true.”

Evan Edinger, My Dad Died…

*DISCLAIMER: EVAN EDINGER IS NOT MY DAD. HE IS ON YOUTUBE (YOU SHOULD CHECK OUT HIS CHANNEL.) ALSO MY FATHER IS VERY MUCH ALIVE*

I want to tell you a story.

One day, I was born. Without a father to protect me, just my mother and her “husband”. That didn’t last.

Where was my father?? He left before I was born.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my dad- he gave me LIFE… But he left my mom, to her own devices.

He left, married someone else and had 2 daughters- two of my sisters.

My mom, on the other hand, got divorced from her “husband” and met my “dad”- the one that actually cared for me (and still does).

Thus, she had my sister Aurora. The one I’ve lived with for her whole life. It’s a love-hate relationship. 

Now, my mom has a new husband. 

This is what pains me. I look at my friends, and a lot of them have great, stable families. They have both of their biological parents, maybe a few siblings.

I look at my family tree and I see a picture drawn by a five-year-old. There’s relations every which way that I don’t even know about! Maybe it’s something about my three dads…

But I feel terrible. I’ve always placed my biological dad in this “box” of evil. My mom always tells me about how terrible he is at paying child support… But that’s all I’ve chosen to acknowledge. He’s a great guy, really. I love his sense of music. He’s a FIREFIGHTER. How cool is that? He has an amazing girlfriend, my sisters are fantastic and my grandparents are the type that would bake you a batch of cookies every time you came to visit. I love them all so much… But I can only seem to focus on the fact that my dad left me before he even had a chance to know me.

I always wonder how different my life would be if I lived with my dad. If I would still be the gay little shit that I am that loves cartoons. How much more would I have influenced my sisters? Would I have ever met Aurora?

This has always conflicted me…

See you guys next time!

~Tentative Visionary

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

